This login is for members of The Broadway League, who are primarily theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers in North American cities, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the commercial theatre industry.

Consumers looking for ticketing accounts should contact directly the theatre where your account is held.

Forgot Password?

Back to login

Press Resources
Press Releases


The League of American Theatres and Producers Presents 2007 Touring Broadway Awards

The League of American Theatres and Producers announced the winners of the Touring Broadway Awards today at its annual Spring Road Conference. Spamalot, the musical “lovingly ripped off” from the classic film Monty Python and the Holy Grail was recognized as the “Best New Musical” and also took home prizes for Production Design and Direction. And Chicago earned recognition for maintaining high quality over its long run.

The awards, which are presented annually by The League of American Theatres and Producers, were announced in a special ceremony hosted by Tony Award® winner and Grey Gardens star Christine Ebersole, on April 16, 2007, at the Crowne Plaza Times Square in New York City. Awards were also presented by Tony Award® nominee Michael Mayer, director of Broadway’s Spring Awakening and Tony Award® winner Natasha Katz, Lighting Designer of Aida.

The Touring Broadway Awards, established in 2001, are the first national awards to recognize Touring Broadway. League presenters representing over 240 markets act as a blue-ribbon panel to select award recipients from their Broadway Series.

The 2007 awards ceremony is sponsored by Chase.

The complete list of winners in the 2007 Touring Broadway Awards is as follows:

Best New Musical
Monty Python’s Spamalot
Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, The Shubert Organization, Arielle Tepper, Stephanie McClelland/Lawrence Horowitz, Elan V. McAllister/Allan S. Gordon, Independent Presenters Network, Roy Furman, GRS Associates, Jam Theatricals, Concert Productions International, Live Nation

Best Play
Author: John Patrick Shanley
Producers: Carole Shorenstein Hays, MTC Productions Inc., Roger Berlind and Scott Rudin

Best Production Design
Monty Python’s Spamalot
Scenic and Costume Design: Tim Hatley
Lighting Design: Hugh Vanstone

Best Musical Score
The Light in the Piazza
Music and Lyrics: Adam Guettel

Best Direction
Mike Nichols
Monty Python’s Spamalot

Best Choreography
Twyla Tharp
Movin’ Out

Best Long-Running Musical (shows that have been on the road for over three years)
Producer: Barry & Fran Weissler

Touring Broadway Achievement Award (recognizing a performer, individual or organization that has shown exceptional dedication to Touring Broadway)
Tom Hewitt – Currently starring as Lawrence Jameson in the national tour of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, he has starred on Broadway in The Lion King, Dracula, The Musical, and the revival of The Rocky Horror Picture Show for which he received Tony and Drama Desk Award nominations.

Touring Broadway People’s Choice Award (A new category allowing members of the League’s Broadway Fan Club to cast votes for their favorite touring show online)

“I am so happy to be here to support the Touring Broadway Awards,” remarked Ebersole during the ceremony. “It’s so important that our national tours have the opportunity to be recognized for their contributions to the industry.”

According to the most recent study produced by the League, Touring Broadway productions sold over 17.1 million tickets in the last season, and 22% of national theatergoers went on to attend a Broadway show in New York City.

Additional information about the awards is available at www.touringbroadwayawards.com.

About The League of American Theatres and Producers

The League of American Theatres and Producers, Inc., founded in 1930 as the League of New York Theatres and operating under the “Live Broadway” trademark, is the national trade association for the Broadway industry. The League’s 600-plus members include theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers in 240 North American cities, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the theatre industry. Each year, League members bring Broadway to nearly 30 million people in New York and across the U.S. and Canada.